Foraging Walk E - East Central

Foraging Walk E - East Central

Where: Silverberry Conservation Site
Date: Friday, June 9 2023
Time: 12-2pm

This 2,100-acre site is approximately 12 km NE of Myrnam. It can be accessed from RR 74, 80, and 81, and from Twp Rd 554. Horseback riders can enjoy designated equine trails that have been restored and are maintained by the Alberta Trail Riding Association. Look for the staging areas on RR 80 and 81. A large waterbody lies in its centre, and a DUC water-controlled structure has created an excellent waterfowl marsh W of the lake. Mature aspen and white spruce surround much of the waterbody, and the site is otherwise covered by open fields with small patches of forest scattered throughout. Wildlife in the area includes moose, white-tailed and mule deer, black bear and upland game birds.

Kevin Kossowan has been on 100+ wild food adventures in the Canadian wild for his twice-James Beard Foundation award-nominated web series ‘From The Wild’. He’s taught field cookery at the Global Bushcraft Symposium, co-creates the series ‘Wild Harvest’ with Les Stroud and chef Paul Rogalski airing on PBS and National Geographic, has led numerous foraging workshops and forage-to-table workshops, and regularly works with chefs exploring the culinary potential of the Canadian wilderness.

What to wear: We'll be outdoors, so check the weather forecast and dress appropriately. Rugged footwear, long sleeves [mosquitos] and pants [thorn protection], a hat, a pocket knife is helpful, and a phone or notepad to take pictures and notes. Even in warm weather long sleeves and pants are recommended.

$45 per participant. 
This is not a drop-off event. A parent or guardian must be present and is considered a paid participant.

Full details provided by email prior to the event.

Cancellation Policy: We'll happily offer a full refund if you really need to cancel up to two weeks in advance. Under two weeks, and we cannot provide a refund.

Event Properties

Event Date Friday, 09 Jun, 2023
Spots available 14
Cut off date Saturday, 03 Jun, 2023
Cancel Before Date Saturday, 27 May, 2023
Price $45 per person
 
 

Featured Events

Biology 30 Lab Seminar
Monday, 06 Feb, 2023
Debate Workshop
Monday, 06 Mar, 2023
Rabbit Hill Ski Day
Wednesday, 08 Mar, 2023
Used Curriculum Fair
Friday, 31 Mar, 2023
Computer Awareness for Parents
Thursday, 06 Apr, 2023
Mediated Learning Foundations F
Wednesday, 12 Apr, 2023
ML: High School A
Monday, 17 Apr, 2023
ML: Challenges B
Tuesday, 09 May, 2023

Upcoming Events

Biology 30 Lab Seminar
Monday, 06 Feb, 2023
Debate Workshop
Monday, 06 Mar, 2023
Rabbit Hill Ski Day
Wednesday, 08 Mar, 2023
Computer Awareness for Parents
Thursday, 06 Apr, 2023
ML: Challenges B
Tuesday, 09 May, 2023
Foraging Walk R
Friday, 19 May, 2023
Indoor Rock Wall Climbing C
Monday, 06 Feb, 2023
ML: Behaviour B
Thursday, 16 Feb, 2023
Indoor Rock Wall Climbing D
Friday, 17 Feb, 2023
ML: Challenges A
Tuesday, 07 Mar, 2023
Speech & Language Development B
Tuesday, 28 Mar, 2023
Portfolio Workshop E
Wednesday, 17 May, 2023
Foraging Walk S
Friday, 19 May, 2023
Foraging Walk T
Saturday, 20 May, 2023
Foraging Walk U
Saturday, 20 May, 2023
Portfolio Workshop F
Tuesday, 30 May, 2023
Foraging Walk F - East Central
Saturday, 10 Jun, 2023
Foraging Walk G - East Central
Saturday, 10 Jun, 2023
Foraging Walk V
Friday, 07 Jul, 2023
Foraging Walk W
Friday, 07 Jul, 2023
Foraging Walk X
Saturday, 08 Jul, 2023
Foraging Walk Y
Saturday, 08 Jul, 2023
Foraging Walk Z
Friday, 04 Aug, 2023
Foraging Walk A
Friday, 04 Aug, 2023
Foraging Walk B
Saturday, 05 Aug, 2023
Foraging Walk C
Saturday, 05 Aug, 2023