Survival: Snow Shelter and Winter First Aid B - Edmonton

Survival: Snow Shelter and Winter First Aid B - Edmonton

When: January 9 from 1 - 4pm
NEW DATE: February 20 from 1 - 3pm 
Where: Stony Plain/Edmonton - Chickakoo Recreation Area

Knowing how to handle an unplanned event in all seasons is a crucial skill to have whether you are going for a quick snowshoe or winter camping. This workshop will cover different types of winter shelters and their construction. The second half of the workshop will cover common winter first aid events and their treatment in the field.

This program is geared towards home school students ages 6 – 17. While parents are not obligated to participate in these workshops, a parental representative must be present for students. Parents and younger siblings are also welcome to stay for the duration of the workshop free of charge. We ask that paid participants be given the space to fully engage and participate in the program.

We run our programs rain or shine and encourage parents/students to check the weather on the day of the workshop and dress accordingly. We suggest wearing layers, as well as long pants and closed toed shoes.

Event Properties

Event Date Tuesday, 20 Feb, 2024
Event End Date Tuesday, 20 Feb, 2024
Cut off date Wednesday, 14 Feb, 2024
Spots available 14
Price $35 per student

Registration has closed.

 
 

Event Search

Featured Events

Upcoming Events

Basic Computer Skills for Mac B
Wednesday, 10 Apr, 2024
Intermediate Bird Watching B
Tuesday, 30 Apr, 2024
Introduction to Bird Watching I
Saturday, 4 May, 2024
Foraging Walk D - Edmonton
Friday, 31 May, 2024
Foraging Walk E - Edmonton
Friday, 31 May, 2024
Foraging Walk F - Derwent
Monday, 3 Jun, 2024
Foraging Walk G - Derwent
Tuesday, 4 Jun, 2024
Foraging Walk Q - Fort McMurray
Saturday, 15 Jun, 2024
Foraging Walk T - Calgary
Saturday, 22 Jun, 2024
Foraging Walk V - Calgary
Monday, 24 Jun, 2024
Foraging Walk Y - Lethbridge
Wednesday, 26 Jun, 2024
Foraging Walk C - Red Deer
Sunday, 30 Jun, 2024
Foraging Walk E - Edmonton
Friday, 5 Jul, 2024
 
 
Part of The Gilbertine Institute