Fundamentals of Chess U - Ages 6-10

Fundamentals of Chess U - Ages 6-10

What: Fundamentals of Chess for ages 6-10
When: Mondays, January 16 - February 20, 2023
Time: 10:00 - 11:00am

Six participant maximum.

Does your child love to play chess? This six-week program is a unique opportunity to play the game while improving skills in Problem Solving, Deductive Reasoning and Creative Thinking by solving chess puzzles and executing a systematic process to beat your opponent.

While this program is called "beginner" it will challenge your chess player and keep them engaged, even if they have been playing for years.

This class is the perfect mix of fun, education, interaction and chess mastery in 1 hour. Your child will be constantly thinking and answering questions in an entertaining manner.

Lessons are taught on zoom through the interactive Lichess website. The hour-long class is divided into 20 minutes of concept, 20 minutes of game and 20 minutes of personalized exercises and free homework.

Classes are a maximum of 6 students.

Questions? Email .

Meet the Tutor
Steven Bloom is a chess teacher from Quebec who ranks at a National Master level. He has taught over 500 students and 4000 lessons in private settings.

Steven has worked with homeschoolers in partnership with different associations across Canada. He loves to keep his classes engaging by asking questions every moment possible to keep the students constantly thinking. He blends education, fun, class participation and games into classes that strive to improve creative thinking and problem solving skills for all students.

Cancellation policy: If we have to cancel an event due to low registration, we will refund your money. However, if you cancel within two weeks of a scheduled camp or event, your money can not be refunded. Without the necessary funds, your last-minute cancellation may otherwise close down an entire event.

Event Properties

Event Date Monday, 16 Jan, 2023
Spots available 0
Cut off date Monday, 16 Jan, 2023
Cancel Before Date Monday, 16 Jan, 2023
Price $140.00
Location Online

This event is now full.

 
 

Featured Events

Biology 30 Lab Seminar
Monday, 06 Feb, 2023
Debate Workshop
Monday, 06 Mar, 2023
Rabbit Hill Ski Day
Wednesday, 08 Mar, 2023
Used Curriculum Fair
Friday, 31 Mar, 2023
Computer Awareness for Parents
Thursday, 06 Apr, 2023
Mediated Learning Foundations F
Wednesday, 12 Apr, 2023
ML: High School A
Monday, 17 Apr, 2023
ML: Challenges B
Tuesday, 09 May, 2023

Upcoming Events

Biology 30 Lab Seminar
Monday, 06 Feb, 2023
Debate Workshop
Monday, 06 Mar, 2023
Rabbit Hill Ski Day
Wednesday, 08 Mar, 2023
Computer Awareness for Parents
Thursday, 06 Apr, 2023
ML: Challenges B
Tuesday, 09 May, 2023
Foraging Walk R
Friday, 19 May, 2023
Indoor Rock Wall Climbing C
Monday, 06 Feb, 2023
ML: Behaviour B
Thursday, 16 Feb, 2023
Indoor Rock Wall Climbing D
Friday, 17 Feb, 2023
ML: Challenges A
Tuesday, 07 Mar, 2023
Speech & Language Development B
Tuesday, 28 Mar, 2023
Portfolio Workshop E
Wednesday, 17 May, 2023
Foraging Walk S
Friday, 19 May, 2023
Foraging Walk T
Saturday, 20 May, 2023
Foraging Walk U
Saturday, 20 May, 2023
Portfolio Workshop F
Tuesday, 30 May, 2023
Foraging Walk F - East Central
Saturday, 10 Jun, 2023
Foraging Walk G - East Central
Saturday, 10 Jun, 2023
Foraging Walk V
Friday, 07 Jul, 2023
Foraging Walk W
Friday, 07 Jul, 2023
Foraging Walk X
Saturday, 08 Jul, 2023
Foraging Walk Y
Saturday, 08 Jul, 2023
Foraging Walk Z
Friday, 04 Aug, 2023
Foraging Walk A
Friday, 04 Aug, 2023
Foraging Walk B
Saturday, 05 Aug, 2023
Foraging Walk C
Saturday, 05 Aug, 2023