Foraging Walk D - Edmonton

Foraging Walk D - Edmonton

Date: May 31, 2024
Time: 9 - 11am

A morning in the North Saskatchewan river valley with wild food guide Kevin Kossowan. Learn about 10-20 species of wild edible plants and fungus, with a focus on their use in the home kitchen.

Kevin Kossowan has been on 100+ wild food adventures in the Canadian wild for his twice-James Beard Foundation award-nominated web series ‘From The Wild’. He’s taught field cookery at the Global Bushcraft Symposium, co-creates the series ‘Wild Harvest’ with Les Stroud and chef Paul Rogalski airing on PBS and National Geographic, has led numerous foraging workshops and forage-to-table workshops, and regularly works with chefs exploring the culinary potential of the Canadian wilderness.

What to wear: We'll be outdoors, so check the weather forecast and dress appropriately. Rugged footwear, long sleeves [mosquitos] and pants [thorn protection], a hat, a pocket knife is helpful, and a phone or notepad to take pictures and notes. Even in warm weather long sleeves and pants are recommended.

$45 per participant. 
This is not a drop-off event. A parent or guardian must be present and is considered a paid participant. While there isn't an age restriction and students are welcome to attend with a grandparent or other older family member, these workshops are student-focused.

Full details provided by email prior to the event.

This event is only for WISDOM families.

Event Properties

Event Date Friday, 31 May, 2024
Event End Date Friday, 31 May, 2024
Cut off date Saturday, 25 May, 2024
Spots available 0
Price $45 per person
 
 

Event Search

Featured Events

Upcoming Events

Basic Computer Skills for Mac B
Wednesday, 10 Apr, 2024
Intermediate Bird Watching B
Tuesday, 30 Apr, 2024
Introduction to Bird Watching I
Saturday, 4 May, 2024
Foraging Walk D - Edmonton
Friday, 31 May, 2024
Foraging Walk E - Edmonton
Friday, 31 May, 2024
Foraging Walk F - Derwent
Monday, 3 Jun, 2024
Foraging Walk G - Derwent
Tuesday, 4 Jun, 2024
Foraging Walk Q - Fort McMurray
Saturday, 15 Jun, 2024
Foraging Walk T - Calgary
Saturday, 22 Jun, 2024
Foraging Walk V - Calgary
Monday, 24 Jun, 2024
Foraging Walk Y - Lethbridge
Wednesday, 26 Jun, 2024
Foraging Walk C - Red Deer
Sunday, 30 Jun, 2024
Foraging Walk E - Edmonton
Friday, 5 Jul, 2024
 
 
Part of The Gilbertine Institute